top of page

my favourite fashion trends of 2020

2020 has been a rough year, but in the fashion world it's been even wilder. Everyone has found their own niche, whether that be y2k, indie, baddie or soft, to name a few. I've seen a lot of people move towards sustainable fashion (myself included!), and start shopping at charity shops, thrift shops or online via depop. Here are my top picks for accessories & clothes trends that happened throughout 2020, trends which every niche managed to put their own spin on.


Patterns & Pattern-clashing

As seen on one of my fashion icons @mimimoocher, pattern-clashing really works. I genuinely don't know how she pulled this off, but she did. You can see more of Mia's amazing outfits by clicking on the picture. Oh, and did I mention she's drop dead gorgeous?? The rise of funky patterns in 2020 has been something i've really enjoyed, from patchwork jeans to animal print. Here are my favourite sites to shop them all at - jadedldn.com amazon.co.uk nastygal.com houseofsunny.co.uk


Flares

Including the fore-mentioned animal print, I'm going to tie in plain colours. Flares are incredibly comfortable, easy to move in and look incredible. An easy way to 'spice' up an outfit, flares have been my go-to this year. You can shop the ones shown at- boohoo.com motelrocks.com & missguided.com

The 'smart casual' look

I love this look. It's one that I may or may not have used excessively this year. Pairing a smart jacket with comfortable trousers or a button-down shirt with classy jeans has honestly been a life-saver this year, and it's a staple look for when you want to look smart, but feel comfy and casual. I think a reason why I love this look so much is because you can literally find anything in your wardrobe that looks nice and throw it on, all whilst looking BOMB. As modelled by another queen- @lidiabayliszullo on ig.



Hairstyles

y2k-

I think the revival of butterfly clips and barettes have been amazing. You can literally throw your hair up and using colourful clips, it completes your outfit. I've been using them a lot, and claw-clips are especially useful for when you're in a rush and can't stop. Shop them at -

90's-

the classic ponytail inspired by the 90's has come back, and I'm obsessed. Caro's looks on Pintrest does a good and quick tutorial, and she has the best style inspo! She also does TikTok videos and showcases her style through there. You can check out a tutorial at: https://pin.it/41yn4IZ


Simple hairstyles have also been lifesavers this year, for when my hair's been greasy or I just don't want it down. @aannaprimaveraa on TikTok does great videos for hairstyling, sport hairstyles and more. You can check here account out via this link -https://www.tiktok.com/@aannaprimaveraa


Y2k cami's & dresses


Yet again incorporating animal & floral prints, y2k cami's are really cute for warmer months, and easily make an outfit cuter. Y2k mini dresses are also incredibly cute, with lace trim adding to the overall look for both. I found these images on Pintrest, but you can shop them via - princesspolly.com amazon.co.uk & asos.com


Baguette bags

and finally, baguette bags. These cute small bags add to an outfit and are practical. They're just big enough for your phone, charger, purse and a few other bits and bobs. I've been using them all the time throughout 2020, and will continue to do so in 2021. With Prada initially kicking off the trend with the revival of their 2000's nylon bag, many small brands followed suit and you can buy bags that look exactly the same for a fraction of the price. My favourites are - missguided.com princesspolly.com and depop.com



Style inspo

If you aren't sure what your aesthetic is, or just want more style and fashion inspiration, check out these accounts.

Some of them also give hair tutorials!


& so, with that we reach the end of my post. Do you want more posts like this? What's your favourite trend of 2020? Let me know by sending me a message or leave a comment.


all my love,

n x



68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page